Medical

A Brief Update

Kristina is typing for me once more as I am still having problems with Tobii. These problems could be due to a couple of factors: the medications I am taking make me sleepy and that makes it hard for Tobii’s cameras to see my eyes. Also, the cataract in my left eye is much worse. And it is possible I may be developing one in my right eye. Everything is harder to read these days.
I want to thank everyone for all the lovely messages of support, love, and prayers. Every day someone reads me my email and helps me scroll through Facebook. Sometimes I can manage on my own, but it is tiring.
On top of all this ALS stuff to deal with, I have now developed a lovely case of thrush. AKA: an oral yeast infection. They took a swab the other day after a ten day course of medication failed to clear it up. It is thoroughly disgusting, I can assure you.
While we are sharing the “not-so-nice” bits (“keeping it real”) I might as well say that having a catheter is both good and bad. The panic attacks have pretty much stopped, since we no longer need to take me to the bathroom, where most of them happened. But catheters can have their own problems. We have been learning about these first hand. On the whole, I think it is a good thing.
I am going to post this over at the blog as well. Some have asked how they can see my blog posts. Just type in your browser or search pattysoksofar.com.
Or you can click here
So, now we wait. I don’t know what God has planned for my exit, but I am ready when He is. Thank you for praying for us. This is the hardest part. We are both so tired, but we still try to find the little joys each day.
Love, Patty

12 thoughts on “A Brief Update

  1. I am sorry you are dealing with thrush. Hopefully they can get that cleared up for you fast. It’s so good to hear from you, I appreciate every word, knowing that a lot of work goes into each post. You are thought of and prayed for daily. Although I am not ready for you to make that exit yet, I also know that I have to accept what is best for Patty and not what is best for me. I don’t want you to suffer more than you have to, that’s for sure.
    Just know that when the time comes, you and your family will be covered in prayer.
    If I don’t get to meet you this side of Heaven, you will be one of the first I run to find when I get there. (After Jesus and my two babies of course) 🙂
    You hang in there, you are doing beautifully.
    Much love,
    Jody

    Like

  2. I have missed your blogs but know fully what this disease does to its victims. You are continually in my thoughts and prayers. God is walking right beside you.

    Like

  3. So sorry that you are experiencing more difficulties on top of the ALS. I Randy have had ALS for a little over 2 years now. It isn’t moving very fast for the moment and a part from the fatigue and weakness in my left arm and leg I’m in pretty good shape for the shape I’m in. I am going to Paris today for a second opinion. I will be praying for you as you cling to Jesus. I have been reading your blog for over a year now and you blessed my heart many many times.

    Like

  4. Oh Patty, I am so relieved to see your blog. I haven’t been able to make it to the support group for several months now and was getting worried that I hadn’t seen you post anything. I know how exhausted my husband is and he’s only 11 months into this journey so I understand. Just know that I’m thinking about you and hope to see you at the next meeting. Sending love, prayers and strength.

    Like

  5. Pray that the Lord will continue to keep His arms around you. Pray for your comfort and love to you and your family at this differcult time. My husband has had ALS for many years now, he always looks forward to your up dates. God is good all the time,He guides and keeps us every day.Praise Jesus!!

    Like

  6. I’ve missed your posts, Patty. I pray for a peaceful day for you today – one in which you can feel God’s mighty arms around you!

    Like

  7. Philippians 1:3-6
    I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you. I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Hugs, Polly

    Like

  8. I’m so glad to see your update, Patty. You have been coming to my mind often lately and I always pause to pray for you.
    I’m sorry you’re having eye problems. I can relate to feeling exhausted and having a hard time keeping my eyes fully open. If you haven’t already tried this, give it a try (it’s been working for me): place your Tobii up higher on the stand so you’re forced to open your eyelids to look at the screen.

    Like

  9. So glad to get your e-mail/blog post this afternoon.

    Since I am only really able to e-mail correctly and other things like face book, etc are foreign efforts on my brain I even rely on ‘snail mail. I have recently been able to get letters from Brittney and we write back and forth as often as we can. Just knowing I have that connection with her brings me so much joy.

    I have realized for some time now how ALS is compromising you, dear sister. In all mechanical ways, perhaps. However it has not been able, nor will it be, able to restrain or constrain your beautiful mind spirit & your ability to communicate. Love is a powerful aphrodisiac. I find that more true each day with my own sorrows. Love gives us strength to push on to our highest and best good that we are able to do.

    Being human and the frailties that can come to us all at some time, we just learn to live with it. I know right now as I am ready to finish my thoughts to you, that you too may be seeing the same afternoon sun as it moves through the days ending in glorious light and shadows. Your beautiful memory will etch those views and your memory will call them up, just like all the times we know we have shared with friends, family and loved ones we have in our lives.

    I hope Kristina or Alan will read this to you so you will know I love you and you are always in my heart and mind.

    Lov u Vivi

    Like

  10. It was good to have this update. You know that I pray for you every day, that the Lord
    will give you His special care. One day we will both rejoice in Heaven without the
    physical limitations. Love and prayers.

    Like

    • I think of you and Alan and pray that you will have a special blessing a closeness a peace that is just for the two of you and that you will feel love that surrounds you both.

      Like

Leave a comment